Why Frozen Was Such A Success

I absolutely love all Disney films, no matter what shape or form. I don’t care if the ratings are low or it plummeted at the Box office, they all have some sort of charm about them. I apply the same rule to Frozen. I watched the movie, I thought it was good. It has catchy songs (to damn catchy), lovable characters (here’s looking at you Olaf) and a clever plot line, yet I don’t understand what the hype is all about. I thought it is like every other Disney princess movie I have ever watched.

I have re watched different movies and I have read Tumblr posts to help me come to the conclusion I have now (And let me tell you it is a pretty good one, if I do say so myself).

Do you remember when I have said that each film has a certain element that makes it unique, an identity, if you will. It is the message it sends to kids For example, Beauty and the Beast, it is about appearances being deceiving. Princess and the Frog is about life is not always hard work and family is important. Well, Frozen is about love of sisters is a stronger bond than love. That you don’t need a man to save you. Yeah, the thing is that  that has been done a few times before. Think Mulan,who saved friggen’ China, Merida who refused to be married off. Hell, even Belle saves the guy in her story, twice might I add.

Ok, you may think, it is the first film that shows sister love…right? WRONG. It may be the first princess film where that has happened, but has everyone forgotten about Lilo and Stitch?

Lilo and her older sister are orphaned when Lilo was little. Her sister Nani has to get a job to support both of them, trying to keep Lilo from be given up to social services. Lilo is so different from the other kids as well and wants literally anyone or thing as a friend. and lets not forget the fact Nani was 19 when this film took place which means she has probably handle this for 2 or 3 years.

***Spoilers***

Ok so you may think what about the fact that there is a queen. Oh honey, that has been done in Atlantis: The Last Empire , a movie that I think is terribly underrated. Kida, the daughter of the king and love interest to Milo (voiced by Michael J Fox) becomes queen after her father dies. So that has been done

 

Maybe another element. Anna has two love interests. Well I hate to break it to you Pocahontas had like three. I haven’t actually watched any of the films and I know that. And while we are the subject of Hans. They used the “Don’t judge the book by the cover” from Beauty and the Beast it is the reverse. (Nice people can secretly be asshats).

So you see, Disney takes elements from other movies that they know that would work. They just added extremely catchy songs, lovable characters and the plot twist of the century to boost the quality of the movie. They basically did Dreamworks on them and parody the idea of the handsome prince saving the damsel in distress.

To end off this article, I just want to add that it’s not just Disney that creates this formula. If you can tell me ten movies that was invented from the mind of the director or script writer, I will be shocked. Most movies are based on a book or a real life event, or a comic book. It could also be a reboot of the popular film that was already invented or a sequel. It makes me sad because they are simply reusing old material because they know it will make money. It’s always comes back to money.

I know this is a cynical view of life (Especially as it is from a 16-year-old girl) but it has to be said. I know that there are hundreds of movies out there that are original, but they are hidden by the mass production from major companies like Disney. I’m not saying that it would be the end of life as we know it, but it would be nice to see something original.

Leave a Reply

